News and analysis
June 24, 2016

National Center for Learning Disabilities and VillageReach Get New Leaders

Mimi Clarke Corcoran, new president of the National Center for Learning Disabilities.

National Center for Learning Disabilities

Mimi Clarke Corcoran, vice president for talent development at New Visions for Public Schools, has been named president. She succeeds James Wendorf, who has led the center for 17 years and will hold the title of executive director emeritus.

Prior to her current position, Ms. Corcoran was chief executive of Andrus, a social-service organization that helps children and families, and director of the special fund for poverty alleviation at the Open Society Foundations.

She starts at the center on July 11.

AIDS United

Jesse Milan Jr., an independent consultant who has worked on HIV/AIDS issues with the Centers for Disease Control and other federal entities, will be interim chief executive.


Evan Simpson, senior program officer at PATH, was appointed president.

Other notable appointments:

Alexis Cooke, director of development at the Adler Planetarium, will be vice president for institutional advancement at the Music Institute of Chicago.

Dolores Korf, regional development officer for the southeast region at the Rheumatology Research Foundation, was named senior director of philanthropy at Treasure Coast Food Bank.

Ellen Muller, economic-development manager for the city of St. Paul, Minn., will be chief advancement officer at the Jeremiah Program, a nonprofit that helps poverty-stricken families.

Debra Joy Pérez, vice president for research, evaluation, and learning at the Annie E. Casey Foundation, will join the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation as chief evaluation and learning officer.


Three high-level officials are leaving the Metropolitan Museum of Art: Sree Sreenivasan, the museum’s first chief digital officer; Cynthia Round, senior vice president for marketing and external relations; and Susan Sellers, head of design.

John (Pat) Dugan, founder of Charity Navigator, announced his retirement from his role as board chair.

Send an email to