News and analysis
March 19, 2012

The Corporation for National and Community Service: A Timeline

September 1993: President Clinton signs legislation to create the Corporation for National and Community Service and AmeriCorps.
October 1993: Eli Segal named chief executive of the Corporation for National and Community Service. Mr. Segal holds the position until September 1995.
September 1994: 20,000 AmeriCorps members begin work in more than 1,000 counties.
October 1995: Harris Wofford succeeds Eli Segal as chief executive. Mr. Wofford holds the position until January 2001.
October 2001: Leslie Lenkowsky succeeds Harris Wofford as chief executive. Mr. Lenkowsky holds the position until August 2003.
January 2002: President George W. Bush creates USA Freedom Corps to encourage volunteerism. He also proposes to expand AmeriCorps by 50 percent.
November 2002: AmeriCorps suspends enrollment of new members because it does not have enough money to pay for all of the scholarship awards participants would earn.
July 2003: President Bush signs a law designed to prevent future AmeriCorps accounting problems.
September 2003: A "Save AmeriCorps" coalition organizes 100 hours of testimony on Capitol Hill to protest deep cuts to the program.
October 2003: AmeriCorps receives a record budget increase for the 2004 fiscal year, to $444-million. Membership rises to 75,000.
January 2004: David Eisner succeeds Leslie Lenkowsky as chief executive. Mr. Eisner holds the position until November 2008.
April 2009: President Obama signs the Edward M. Kennedy Serve America Act, which authorizes AmeriCorps to grow to 250,000 members by 2017.
February 2010: Patrick Corvington succeeds David Eisner as chief executive. Mr. Corvington holds the position for only 15 months, leaving in May 2011.
October 2011: Wendy Spencer, chief executive of Volunteer Florida, is nominated to become the Corporation's chief executive.

Related: National Service’s Fight for the Future.